Articles Tagged with DNR lawyer

Hunting laws in Michigan are always subject to revision.  It is important to become aware of any changes in the law before the beginning of any hunting season by reading each year’s Michigan Hunting Digest.

In Michigan, safety zones are considered to be all areas within 150 yards (450 feet) of any occupied house, building, cabin, barn, or any building used for a farming operation. Hunting with a firearm is prohibited within a safety zone unless the hunter has the written permission of the owner, occupant, or renter of the property.  Pursuant to Michigan Compiled Law 324.40111(7) a person who commits a safety zone violation may be charged with a misdemeanor that may subject the person to a maximum of 90 days in jail, probation with conditions, a fine of anywhere from $50 to $500, Court costs, and State fees.  The sentencing Judge also has the discretion to revoke hunting privileges pursuant to Michigan Compiled Law 324.43559.

It is important to note that safety zones apply to hunting only.   It does not include shooting ranges, target shooting, law enforcement activities, or the lawful discharge of firearms for any non-hunting purpose.

Please be advised that the following partial list of deer hunting charges and penalties in Michigan are always subject to change, and the information that you are reading is not a substitute for the services of a experienced criminal defense lawyer.  It is the responsibility of every Michigan deer hunter to update himself or herself of changes of the law every season for the State and for particular regions in the State where they hunt.  For all DNR and Deer Hunting related arrests, tickets, and charges the recommended criminal defense lawyer in Michigan is attorney Daniel Hilf.

Take Deer From a Motor Vehicle [ MCL 324.40111(1) ] – misdemeanor offense with mandatory minimum of at least 5 days in jail to a maximum of 90 days in jail, a minimum fine of at least $200 to a maximum fine of $1000,  Court costs and State fees, restitution for the deer, and the loss of hunting privileges for to remainder of the year of conviction plus 3 additional calendar years pursuant to MCL 324.40118(7).

Loaded or Uncased Firearm in a Motor Vehicle [ MCL 324.40111(2) ] – misdemeanor offense with a maximum of 90 days in jail, a minimum fine of at least $50 to a maximum fine of $500, Court costs and State fees,  and the loss of hunting privileges at the discretion of the Court pursuant to MCL 324.43559.

The great outdoors is suddenly not so great when DNR writes you a ticket.  The freedom you felt enjoying nature is now crushed and your day, season, and future hunting seasons are maybe ruined.  Many people do not know that some hunting violations (if convicted as charged) require a mandatory jail sentence.  Unfortunately, in the eyes of the State of Michigan the wildlife is its property and it determines the rules as to how you can lawfully possess it.  Ignorance of the law is not an excuse – that is why they give out the Michigan Hunting and Trapping Digest at the start of every season.  Because the state of Michigan are stewards of our natural resources, the DNR is charged with the enforcement of any violations of conservation laws and they take that responsibility seriously!

images-300x168
It is always a good idea to understand the process of how a DNR officer may perform his or her duties.  This is even important for the sportsman or sportswoman who tries to do everything by the book.  Why?  It is possible for someone to unintentionally violate the law.  The conservation laws change from time to time.  Perhaps you were not aware of a change as it related to baiting?  Maybe the fish possession or size  limit changed from one season to the next?  In some instances you might be accused of doing something unlawfully even through it isn’t true.

images-1
The following is my list of the top 10 Michigan DNR Investigation Strategies for Wildlife Violations:

images-300x166
The State of Michigan imposes very steep penalties for unlawfully taking a deer and/or poaching of a deer.  The law concerning the penalty is contained in Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) 324.40118 and MCL 324.40119, and includes the following:

  1. A misdemeanor criminal conviction;
  2. Imprisonment for not less than 5 days or more than 90 days (see MCL 324.40118(3)).  For persons with 2 convictions for this offense within 5 years, the imprisonment becomes a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail and a maximum of 180 days (see MCL 324.40118(17));

In Michigan, many people are prosecuted every year for hunting and fishing violations.  These hunting and fishing violations can sometimes result in arrests, jail time, probation, large amounts of fines/costs/restitution, the forfeiture of hunting/fishing equipment, and the loss of hunting privileges or fishing privileges.

images-300x166
A  Michigan Department of Natural Resources (DNR) investigation often begins with a tip that they receive from a neighbor, or bystander, as to a particular hunting violation.  It could be from a dog tracker or a deer processor.  DNR officers are usually quick to respond, because the window to conduct a proper investigation is often small.   Sometimes the investigation begins with something that the DNR officer observed while performing his or her job.  The type of investigation conducted usually depends upon the type of case that is investigated.

images-300x150
If the DNR conservation officer is investigating a hunter for illegally taking a deer, he or she will attempt to interview the hunter and other persons that have knowledge of the alleged offense.  Do not lie to an DNR officer – that is a crime.  However, remember that you have a 5th Amendment privilege not to incriminate yourself.  You are not obligated to provide any statement regarding the alleged offense.  You also have a right to retain an experienced lawyer to represent you, such as Attorney Daniel Hilf, to defend you.