In Michigan it is the responsibility of every hunter, and every person who fishes, to know the laws as it relates to their hunting and fishing privileges. These laws and penalties are always subject to revision, and it is recommended that you read the Michigan Hunting and Trapping Digest for the current year at the start of the season. When a DNR conservation officer issues a ticket, their are certain offenses that carry mandatory penalties upon conviction:
- Violation of permits to hunt/fish, hunger/fishing out of season, bag limit violations, shooting during prohibited hours, and improper methods of taking game can lead to a fine from $50 to $500 dollars and a maximum of 90 days in jail.
- Illegally taking a deer carries a mandatory minimum of 5 days in jail and a maximum sentence of 90 days. This offense also will lead to the imposition of restitution of $1000 per animal and another $1000 if antlered. For trophy deers, their is also restitution of $500 for each point for a deer with 8 to 10 points, and $750 for each point for deer with 11 or more points. On top of this, there is a revocation of hunting privileges for the current hunting season plus 3 additional years. If the deer is antlered, for a first offense there is an additional 2 year suspension, and for a second offense and additional 7 year suspension. The hunter’s firearm, crossbow, or bow is also subject to forfeiture. The court will also potentially impose court costs and probation with conditions as well.