Articles Tagged with drug arrest

A person convicted of a drug possession offense in Michigan may qualify to have his or her record expunged at the time of sentencing.

In Michigan (for non federal cases) an individual who either pleads guilty or is found guilty of possession or use of a controlled substance, or possession or use of an imitation controlled substance for a second time, may be granted by the Court a special provision of the law called 7411 (also known as Michigan Compiled Law 333.7411) as long as he or she has not previously been convicted of a drug possession or delivery charge.  Under 7411 status the Court without entering a judgment of guilt may defer proceedings and place the individual on probation.  Probation would include the payment of fees and cost, and may (but does not have to) include conditions such as a jail sentence, drug/alcohol treatment, drug Court, drug/alcohol testing reporting to a probation officer and other standard terms and conditions of reporting or non-reporting probation.  If the person successfully completes the terms and conditions of probation ordered by the Court, the Court shall discharge the individual and dismiss the proceedings without an adjudication of guilt.  An individual in Michigan has only 1 opportunity in life for 7411 status.  However, an individual charged with multiple drug charges as part of the same case (for example, a person charged with being in possession of marijuana and possession of cocaine at the same time) can receive 7411 status for all the drug offenses incurred at that time.
For any criminal offense, your best bet is to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer, such as Attorney Daniel Hilf from the law firm of Hilf & Hilf, PLC.

Drug Offenses at the 52-4 District Court in Troy, Michigan
The following is a list of Drug Ordindance violations that are handled by the Troy City Attorney:

98.11.01 Possession or Use of Marijuana. No person shall knowingly or intentionally possess or use marijuana except as authorized by state law. A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 93 days or by a fine of not more than $500, or both.